304 degrees of bike faff becomes 185 degrees of bike faff

With mixed emotions, I am having to cut short my trip after Japan to start a new job in London in November. On one hand, I’m really excited to take the new job but obviously quite sad to lose almost half of the trip of my lifetime.

As I’m cutting out the New Zealand and South America legs, this is no longer a round the world journey as I’ll fly back West from Japan instead of continuing East, and I’m also losing the Southern hemisphere travel.

The result is a serious hit on the degrees travelled. It was pointed out to me after I made the blog that since there are actually 360 degrees of longitude, not 180, the name of the blog should actually be 484 degrees of bike faff so the reduction appears less drastic than it actually is.

The most extreme North/South/East/West points now are Tromso/Hong Kong/Tokushima/London respectively, making the journey 140 degrees in longitude (compared to 360 previously) and a mere 45 degrees in latitude (compared to 124 previously).

Untitled
New route map is so much lamer

 

Leave a comment